How much is the county fee?
The county fee is $19 per year per vehicle, or $38 for a two-year renewal. The fee applies to Multnomah County residents that pay a state vehicle registration fee. Trucks weighing 26,000 lbs. or more pay a separate weight/mile fee, according to state law. The county fee is in addition to the state DMV vehicle registration fee (amount varies). If a vehicle is registered within the Department of Environmental Quality’s (DEQ) air testing area, a $21 emissions certificate of compliance is also required.How and when will county residents pay the fee?
Multnomah County residents will pay the new fee to the DMV when they renew their state vehicle registration. The fee can be paid at DMV offices, by mail or online at OregonDMV.com. Or, if you do not have an address change at the time of renewal, county residents may pay the new fee at a DEQ vehicle inspection station after passing the required emissions test. Vehicles in Multnomah County with registration expiring during September 2010 or after will be assessed the new fee.How long will the fee be in place?
The fee goes into effect for vehicles in Multnomah County with registration expiring during September 2010 or after. It will remain in effect for approximately 20 years. It will take that long to pay off bonds to pay for the new Sellwood Bridge.Where does the legal authority for the fee come from?
The Jobs and Transportation Act passed by the Oregon Legislature and signed by Governor Kulongoski in 2009.How much money will the fee raise?
The fee is projected to raise $127 million to help pay for the new Sellwood Bridge.What’s included in the vehicle fee county residents pay?
In addition to the state vehicle registration fee, Multnomah County residents will pay an additional fee of $19 per year per vehicle ($38 for a two-year renewal) to help pay for the new Sellwood Bridge.