Oregon has raised the minimum legal sale age for tobacco products from 18 to 21 years of age. On January 1, 2018, businesses cannot sell tobacco, nicotine or vape products to anyone under 21 years old in Oregon. This new law includes:
- Vape pens
- E-liquid (nicotine and non-nicotine)
- Loose tobacco
- Smokeless tobacco
- Any other device or product that can deliver tobacco
The Health Department will begin minimum legal sales age inspections in late January 2018. Businesses will be notified of the inspection results.
If You Sell Tobacco
Only sell tobacco products to people who are 21 years of age or older. Make sure you ask customers who look younger than 30 years old for IDs, and check the birth dates carefully.
In addition, retailers should take the following steps to comply with the new law:
- Post the latest state signage notifying customers about the new minimum sales age.
- Post the customer notice window/door decal (mailed to licensed retailers in January).
- Train your employees on how to comply with the law to ensure they do not sell tobacco products to people under 21 years old.
Youth Can Still Buy Products to Help Quit
The Tobacco 21 law does not restrict the sale of nicotine replacement therapy products to smokers as young as 18. Youth ages 18-20 can still buy nicotine patches and gum to help quit.
Raising the sales age of tobacco products is intended to protect children and youth from early tobacco addiction. The earlier youth start using tobacco and vaping products, the more likely they are to become addicted.
- How to Read an Oregon ID
- Minimum Sales Age Sign
- Tobacco 21 window clings (pictured above) - Contact us to request additional clings, 503-988-4163, firstname.lastname@example.org
Environmental Health Services
847 NE 19th Ave, Suite 350
Portland OR 97232 (MAP)