Multnomah County Health Department honors 2012 Public Health Heroes

April 3, 2012

Multnomah County saluted six public health champions on Tuesday, April 3, for their efforts to build a healthier community and boost awareness of public health issues.

These individuals and organizations were honored at the 12th Annual Public Health Heroes Celebration in the county board room. The celebration is held in conjunction with National Public Health Week.

Fifty individuals, nonprofits and private businesses were nominated to be heroes, all of whom are working to promote public health.

“Each one deserves a thank you for the time and commitment they’ve shown in helping to improve the health of our community,” Health Director Lillian Shirley said.

They work daily to make life in Multnomah County better and live up to the Health Department’s mission of “Healthy people in healthy communities.”

The 2012 Public Health Heroes are:

The Josiah Hill Community Leadership Award: Jacki Gethner, international health advocate and founder of Women of a Certain Age program that supports and educates women over 50 with HIV/AIDS.

Community-Based Organization Award: Native American Youth & Family Center (NAYA), an organization that works to enrich the lives of Native youth and families through education, community involvement and culturally specific programming.

Kate Jeans-Gail Award for Young Heroes: Youth Advisory Council, a peer advocacy group, which focuses on promoting and improving the health and academic success of children and youth. Council members represent school-based health centers throughout Oregon.

Business Award: KUNP-TV Univision Portland, a local Spanish television station broadcasting in the Portland metropolitan area since 2003.

Multnomah County Employee Award: Erika Preuitt, District Manager for the Multnomah County Department of Community Justice.

Governor John Kitzhaber Public Health Leadership Award: Dr. Karen Gray, Superintendent of Parkrose School District.

WATCH: Video of 2012 Public Health Hero Jacki Gethner.

Previous award recipients:

Heather Fercho
Jeld-Wen Field
Melissa Greeney
Multnomah Food Initiative Steering Committee
Oregon Mission of Mercy (OrMOM)
Ryan White Service Providers
The Welcome Baby Team
Youth Violence Prevention Partnership

Coalition for a Livable Future
Multnomah Youth Commission
Renee Hackenmiller-Paradis
S. Renee Mitchell
Susan Kirchoff

Commissioner Jeff Cogen
Girls on the Run Metro
Judy McFarland
Linda Hornbuckle
Multnomah Dental Society

Albert Le
Anatoliy Vlasenko
Antonio Lopez
Bill Bradbury
Dr. Bob Sayson
Governor Ted Kulongoski
Jessica Guernsey Camargo
Jordan Pulver
Justine Grandbois
Louis Herbert
Matthew Lashua
Medela, Inc.
MIKE (Multicultural Integrated Kidney Education) Program
Thath Kim

Alena Lam
Alliance of Portland Neighborhood Business Associations
American Lung Association of Oregon (ALAO)
Cynthia Cervantes
Garland Brown
Glea Livingston
Katie Sanders
Loaves & Fishes Centers, Inc.
Rick Seifert
Tiarra Orr
Victoria Hoang