አማርኛ | العربية | Burmese | Español | 中文 | 繁體中文 | Chuukese | فارسی | Français | 日本語 | Kajin Majōl | Kishwahili | ကညီကျိ | 한국어 | Kosrean | नेपाली | Palauan | Pohnpeian | русский | Soomaali | ภาษาไทย | กริญญา | Tiếng Việt | Tongan
Stay Home, Except for Essential Needs
On March 23, Governor Kate Brown issued an order directing everyone in Oregon to stay at home unless absolutely necessary. The order is effective immediately, and remains in effect until ended by the governor.
- Go out only for essentials (groceries, medical care)
- Stay at least 6 feet from others any time you are out
- Gatherings of members of the same residential household are allowed
- List of what's allowed and what's not»
Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office FAQs on enforcement of Governor’s Order (PDF)
Call the law enforcement non-emergency number, 503-823-3333, if you are concerned about people gathering. Includes Portland Police and Multnomah County Sheriff (for all cities in Multnomah County).
The virus that causes COVID-19 passes easily from person to person. To stay healthy:
- Stay at least 6 feet from others
- Prevent the spread of germs by washing hands often and covering your cough
- Clean and disinfect high-touch surfaces
What to do if you are sick
If you start to feel sick—especially with a fever and cough—stay home and do the things you normally do to feel better. Sleep, rest, and drink plenty of fluids. There is no specific medicine for COVID-19.
- Steps to take if you are sick or think you may be infected with coronavirus
- Check your risk for COVID-19 to help you decide if you should seek medical care.
- If you need to seek care, call your doctor before going to the clinic. They will tell you what to do next.
The way we do business, care for each other and interact in our community is changing while we work to slow the spread of the virus.
- Food service and restaurants
- Shelters and campers
- Community and faith groups
- Long-term care facilities
- Renters and property managers
- View all guidance»
- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention FAQs
- Oregon Health Authority COVID-19 FAQs
- Oregon Department of Education FAQs
- More frequently asked questions»
Call 2-1-1 7 days a week, 8 a.m. to 11 p.m., for basic COVID-19 questions, or to find social and health services.