June 10, 2011

On Thursday, June 9th, the Citizen Involvement Committee (CIC) held its annual celebration dinner. The dinner honors community members who have dedicated their time and energy to serve on the CIC and Citizen Budget Advisory Committees (CBACs), and those who have extensively supported the efforts of these committees. At the pre-meeting to the dinner, the CIC elected its new officers for next year and approved an update to its Bylaws . 

The new FY 2011-12 officers are: B.J. FinleyBranch, Chair; Shalonda Menefee, Vice-Chair; Teresa Walton, Treasurer; and Sue O'Halloran, Secretary.

The dinner was held at the Kennedy School in NE Portland. Over 45 people attended including CIC and CBAC members, county employees, and county commissioners and staff. Following a dinner of tacos (buffett style), the event's program began. CIC Chair Brad McLean presented Public Service Awards to recognize the outstanding contributions of CIC and CBAC volunteers, as well as Public Support Awards to recognize county employees who have gone beyond the call of duty to support citizen involvement committees (see the list of awardees below). The 4th Annual Sy Award was then presented to a community member who's longtime actions have furthered the voice of underserved and under-represented county citizens. The 2011 winner is Dr. Keren Brown Wilson. Meet Keren here

The dinner was also memorable thanks to two stories presented by Portland storyteller Anne Rutherford, and a short roast of outgoing Chair McLean. One quip offered at the roast:

  • Now that Brad has his Thursday evenings free again he has no excuse not to practice and raise his bowling score!  

Public Service Awards
Helen Williams
Phylllis Thiemann
Amy Anderson
Julie Cieloha
Marian Creamer
Steve Weiss
Jill Hoffman
Sherry Willmschen
Dick Wegner

Public Support Awards
Tara Bowen-Biggs
Rachel Schiff
Multnomah Co. Auditor’s Office
Robert Phillips
Mark Baker
Kevin Kitamura
Multnomah Co. Budget Office

Volunteer Award
Amy Anderson