June 14, 2013

On Thursday, June 13th, the Citizen Involvement Committee (CIC) held its annual celebration dinner. It was a packed house with chairs having to be brought in from the hallway to accommodate all the attendees. The dinner honors community members who have dedicated their time and energy to serve on the CIC and Citizen Budget Advisory Committees (CBACs), and those who have extensively supported the efforts of these committees. 

The dinner was held at the Kennedy School in NE Portland. Attendees included CIC and CBAC members, county employees, and staff from commissioners' offices. Following a dinner of tacos, the event's program began. CIC Chair Steven Joiner presented Public Service Awards to recognize the outstanding contributions of CIC and CBAC volunteers, as well as Public Support Awards to recognize people who have gone beyond the call of duty to support citizen involvement committees (see the list of awardees below). The 6th Annual Sy Award was then presented to a county employee or community member who's longtime actions have furthered the voice of underserved and under-represented county citizens. The 2013 winner is Lila Wickham who manages the Multnomah County Environmental Health Services. Meet Lila.

The CIC officers for FY 2012-13 were also announced. They are Sue O'Halloran, Chair; Teresa Walton, Vice-Chair; Steven Joiner, Treasurer; and Scott Kuyper, Secretary.

Public Support Awards
Sherry Willmschen
David Torrey 
Donna Morris 
Joe Daunt 
Jeff Alderman
Ronna Seavey
Eamon Molloy 

Public Service Awards
Karyne Kieta 
Rolando Cruz
Grace Neal
Steve March 
Janet Hawkins
Shea Marshman
Lynette Hanson