December 5, 2014

On Wednesday December 3rd,  Multnomah County held their annual recognition award ceremony for county employees who have provided 15 through 30 years of service. Chair Kafoury and Commissioner McKeel acknowledging long-term employees’ personal commitment to the County and their work. The Department of Community Justice (DCJ) proudly had 56 employees achieving these milestones. Their combined public service record totals 1,070 years of experience. This represents about a third of the 3,100 total years of service for the County as a whole.

This year, DCJ has 12 honorees with 25 years or more of service, totaling 415 years of experience. These include:

  • Sandra Norman, Clerical Unit Coordinator, 35 years
  • Vickie Guion, Community Justice Manager, 30 years
  • Robin Rossmiller, Corrections Technician, 30 years
  • Laura Burgess, Juvenile Counselor, 25 years
  • Sheryl Charles, Records Technician, 25 years
  • Larry Fritz, Juvenile Counselor, 25 years
  • Debra Sweet Helgerson, Community Justice Manager, 25 years
  • Christine Jensen, Probation/Parole Officer, 25 years
  • Cheryl Niehaus, Juvenile Counselor, 25 years
  • Vickie Parker, Clerical Unit Coordinator, 25 years
  • Clyde Waymire, Probation/Parole Officer, 25 years
  • Thomas Woehler, Juvenile Services Custody Specialist, 25 years

Debbie Sweet was recognized as a Multnomah County Exceptional Employee during the ceremony. Her 25 year tenure at Multnomah County has included numerous positions from intake to manager. She has played key roles in various large-scale initiatives and has established very strong and vital relationships with numerous community partners and stakeholders.

Debbie Sweet

Many DCJ employees attended the ceremony, which included a receiving line led by Chair Kafoury and County Commissioner McKeel.