County Commissioners mourn domestic violence, remind community help is available

October 3, 2017

A message from the Multnomah County Board of Commissioners:

We are deeply saddened by the death of a young mother at the Alderwood Apartments Monday morning. This is a devastating tragedy that has impacted so many of our community members. Staff from our Department of County Human Services are working to provide support for our communities during this time.

As Board members, we want to extend our heartfelt sympathies to the family and friends who have lost a loved one. The impact of this death, particularly just two days into Domestic Violence Awareness Month, will be felt across the county for a long time.

Already, 27 people have died or been killed in domestic violence incidents in Oregon in 2017. Domestic violence can be physical harm, verbal attacks, psychological manipulation, sexual abuse, financial abuse and other forms of control by a partner or family member. It affects people of every age, gender, and background across Multnomah County.

As our community struggles with this devastating loss, please remember, Multnomah County has resources available and a commitment to support anyone affected by domestic violence, including support for children exposed to violence in their homes.

Multnomah County’s Domestic and Sexual Violence Coordination Office is committed to working with our partners to eliminate domestic violence. If you or someone you know is experiencing a dangerous or violent situation, please seek help by reaching out to one of these organizations:

Call to Safety, a 24-hour domestic and sexual violence crisis line, 888.235.5333 or

El Programa Hispano - Proyecto UNICA - Linea de Crisis, 503.232.4448.

The Gateway Center for Domestic Violence Services, 10305 E. Burnside, Portland, a  drop-in domestic violence services Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

-- Commissioner Lori Stegmann, District 4, Commissioner Jessica Vega Pederson, District 3, Commissioner Loretta Smith, District 2, Commissioner Sharon Meieran, District 1, Chair Deborah Kafoury.