Am I eligible to get a marriage license in Multnomah County?
You must meet these requirements to have a marriage license issued from Multnomah County:
- You are at least 17 years old. (If you are 17, please read the Consent Requirements before you apply for your license.)
- Your ceremony will take place somewhere in the State of Oregon.
- You are getting married within 60 days.
- You are not currently married.
- You are not first cousins or any nearer of kin.
Instructions For Obtaining Marriage Licensing
Starting Monday, March 23rd, Multnomah County in conformance with County and State mandates and public closure of the Recorder’s Office amid the COVID-19 outbreak, will temporarily issue marriage licenses through the mail only. To obtain a license, please read the following instructions:
1. Request a blank marriage license application. This can be done by either:
A. Sending a request and a self-addressed stamped envelope to Marriage License Request PO BOX 2716 Portland 97208
B. Email a request to email@example.com and include the mailing address you would like the form mailed to.
2. When you receive your blank marriage license application:
- Fill out fields 1a thru 22b completely.
- Sign lines 25 and 26 with your current legal name.
- Do not leave any fields blank.
Note about Parents Information:
Parental names should be complete (first, middle, last) and should be reflective of the name they were born with.
Note about Last Name Taken After Marriage:
Oregon law limits the possible name change options when getting married. Please review the options below before selecting your name taken after marriage.
(a) Retain the party’s middle name, if any, and surname prior to the marriage;
(b) Retain the party’s middle name, if any, and change the party’s surname to the surname of the other party;
(c) Either retain or remove the party’s middle name, if any, and change the party’s surname to one surname or a combination of surnames, or names within the surnames, of either or both parties, with or without a hyphen;
(d) Change the party’s middle name, if any, to the party’s surname at birth or prior to the marriage; or
(e) Add to the party’s middle name, if any, the party’s surname at birth or prior to the marriage and change the party’s surname to the surname of the other party.
3. After filling out the form, mail the following items to:
Multnomah County Marriage License Office
PO BOX 2716
Portland OR 97208-2716
Completed license application.
Front and back copy of photo identification for both parties (driver’s license, state id card, passport, etc.). The name on the application should match the identification provided.
Contact phone numbers of both parties.
A $60 cashier’s check or money order made out to Multnomah County Marriage Licenses. If you are requesting a waiver of the three-day waiting period, please submit a $65 cashier’s check or money order.
4. Once we receive and have reviewed your information,
We will mail you the marriage license packet to take with you to your ceremony. Instructions for the officiant will be included, as well as instructions for returning your completed license.
This process is estimated to take 1.5 - 2 weeks to complete.
Frequently asked questions:
I want to change my name. What are my options?
As part of the marriage license application, each party must pick the name taken after the marriage ceremony. However, the State of Oregon limits your name change options. If your desired name is not listed when applying, please ask the clerk at the window for allowable name options.
I need the waiting period waived. How do I do that?
Who can marry us?
The following people can perform ceremonies:
- Anyone authorized by an active religious congregation or secular organization. (Requirements for Officiants)
- A State of Oregon judicial officer.
- An active judge of a federal court.
- An active United States Magistrate judge.
What if our officiant got ordained online?
As long as the online ordination meets the requirements from the State of Oregon, it is just as official as a traditional religious ordination.
What about witnesses?
You need two witnesses who are 18 years or older to make a ceremony valid in Oregon. Neither the minister or partners involved can act as a witness. Witnesses will print their names on the license as verification of their presence.
What happens after the ceremony?
The officiant will fill in the required information and sign the license. Once complete, the officiant is responsible for returning the license to Multnomah County within five days of the ceremony.
I’ve changed my name on my marriage license. What do I do now?
Now that your name has changed, you will need to update all your information, such as your driver’s license, passport, etc. with the new name. Here is the that can help you through the process. Most organizations want to see a certified copy as proof of your new name.
How do I get a certified copy of my marriage license?
You can get a certified copy either by:
- Coming in person. We process requests immediately. We accept cash, checks and debit or credit cards. The fee is $7.75 for the first copy, $4.00 each for any additional copies.
- Mailing in the . Once received, we process requests within 1-2 business days. We only accept checks for mailed requests. Payments must be in US dollars.
I need an apostille seal on my marriage record. Where do I go?
The Secretary of the State of Oregon is responsible for providing apostille seals. They will not accept County-issued copies of marriage records. Instead, you must provide a copy from the State of Oregon Vital Records office.
There is a mistake on my marriage license. How do I fix it?
If the license has already been received by our office, there may be a $20 amendment fee charged to correct the information. Please contact us so we can assist you.
Need extra help?
Use our live chat service.