Sick African American man calling for medical helpStay Home

We’ll assume you have an infection now and are contagious to other people. Whether or not you have symptoms, stay home and separate from others.

If You Have Symptoms

No Symptoms

You can be around others after:

  • You have no fever for 24 hours without the use of medicine, AND
  • Your symptoms improve, AND
  • At least 10 days have passed since your first symptoms

You can be around others after:

  • 10 days have passed since your test, and you have no symptoms.

Other members in your household should stay home for 14 days.

Other members in your household should stay home for 14 days.

CDC recommendations on when you can be around others»

A Public Health Worker May Call You

We will explain your test results and give you information on how to protect yourself, family, friends and co-workers until you are not contagious anymore.

  • To protect your privacy, we will ask you to confirm your name and birth date.
  • We will ask you about the people you have been in close contact with in the recent days.
  • We will never ask you to provide other personal information (Social Security number, documentation status, or financial information).

About contact tracing»

Resources for Staying Home

The public health worker can also help you figure out what kind of support you need to isolate yourself, and can connect you to organizations that can help with resources you may need (groceries, financial support, help with rent, other essentials). We can help!

If you cannot self-isolate, we will work with you to explore your options. Community resources»

Take Care of Yourself

It is important to take care of yourself and prevent spreading the virus to others. Call your doctor or healthcare provider (unless they provided the test).

There is no cure or specific medicine for COVID-19. What to do if you’re sick»

10 Ways to Manage Respiratory Symptoms at Home

English (986.73 KB)
Chinese - Simplified (1 MB)
Chinese - Traditional (1.01 MB)
Chuukese (963.48 KB)
French (989.93 KB)
Korean (998.64 KB)
Nepali (1012.36 KB)
Russian (992.58 KB)
Somali (987.49 KB)
Spanish (988.86 KB)
Swahili (Congo) (988.86 KB)
Swahili (988.56 KB)
Thai (1017.56 KB)
Ukrainian (989.67 KB)
Vietnamese (993.18 KB)


If You Work

Do Not Go To Work

If you test positive for COVID-19, stay home, even if you don’t have symptoms. Call in sick. Take sick leave if you have it. Isolate yourself.

See the top of this page for when you can go back.

Should I tell my employer?

If you work in food service, you are required by law to tell your supervisor you tested positive for COVID-19. If you do not work in food service, you are not required to tell them.

Sick Leave Options

  • Paid sick time - Oregon law gives all employees sick time, including part-time workers. You get this if your employer has 10 or more employees (6 or more in Portland).
  • Families First Coronavirus Response Act - Requires covered employers to provide medical leave for specific reasons related to COVID-19, and emergency paid sick leave or expanded family leave.
  • Pandemic Unemployment Assistance - Provides financial assistance if you’re unable to work due to COVID-19 and don’t qualify for regular unemployment (self-employed, contractor, gig worker, new hire, etc).

Contact Oregon OSHA to report hazards at your worksite, or if you believe you have been discriminated against on the basis of safety and health issues.

Will my employer tell my coworkers I tested positive?

Employers may inform employees of their exposure to COVID-19 in the workplace. But they must maintain confidentiality and not reveal your personal information as required by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

The information you give to a public health worker, or contact tracer, is used to find and contact people at risk of getting COVID-19 from you, so they can take steps to protect the people around them. We keep your information is private. We do not tell people who may have exposed them, unless we have your permission. Sometimes we need to notify places you have been while infectious, such as your workplace. They will work with you to do this safely and privately.

What happens if someone at work tested positive for COVID-19?

If you have been in close contact with someone who tested positive, you will get a call from a public health worker.

Depending on how close your contact was to the person, you may be asked to stay home and away from others (including those at home) for 14 days after your last exposure. If you have been exposed to COVID-19, it can take up to 14 days for you to get sick. 

If you decide to get tested during your quarantine period and test negative for COVID-19, you still need to stay in quarantine for the full 14 days. Because it can take up to 14 days for you to get sick after your last exposure, testing negative before that only tells you that you are not sick yet.

Will my employer question me about COVID-19 symptoms?

During a pandemic, employers who are required to comply with American With Disabilities Act (ADA) may ask employees if they are experiencing symptoms. They must maintain all information about employee illness as a confidential medical record, in compliance with the ADA.

When You’re Ready to Go Back to Work

When you feel healthy again, see the top of this page for when you can go back. 

If You Are an Employer

What to do if an employee has COVID-19»