The Community Involvement Committee (CIC) is a panel of 15 volunteers from throughout Multnomah County who are appointed by the Multnomah County Board of Commissioners. They work with County officials, departments, and the community to facilitate and enhance opportunities for community participation. 

What is the Community Involvement Committee? The CIC facilitates communication between Multnomah County’s diverse community members and the Board of Commissioners. It engages in ongoing study and discussion of the county’s priorities, programs, and procedures, including the county budget process. It shares information from the county regarding programs and services, and makes recommendations to the Board and departments.

When does the CIC meeting? The CIC meets monthly in the evening on the third Tuesday of the month in the Multnomah Building (501 SE Hawthorne) and meetings are open to the public. Check our meeting calendar for updates.

Who are the members? Members of the CIC are volunteers who have been nominated by community organizations and appointed by the Multnomah County Board of Commissioners. They must be residents of Multnomah County. There are fifteen positions in the CIC, three for each of the four Multnomah County districts and three at large members.

How does a person get nominated? A community organization provides a nomination letter. District members are nominated by organizations located in the same Multnomah County district in which the nominee resides. You can view district maps here. At-large members can also be nominated by incorporated organizations doing work in Multnomah County communities.

Who would enjoy the work? People who are interested in building relationships with commissioners, engaging with County processes, services, and leadership, who are passionate about connecting to their communities, and excited about influencing decisions that will impact Multnomah County. Nominees should be energized by the opportunity to practice creative leadership during times of change. The CIC is always seeking to diversify its membership to reflect the communities impacted by County decisions.

If you have any questions about the Community Involvement Committee, contact the Office of Community Involvement at or 503.988.3450.