Obtaining a public record from Multnomah County

Under Oregon’s Public Records law (ORS 192), individuals,organizations, agencies, and businesses may request that Multnomah County provide copies or access to written documents and materials. The request must:

  • Be in writing.
  • Include contact information.
  • Clearly state what records are sought.

Please be advised there may be a fee to cover staff time researching and retrieving the documents. You will be notified of any estimated fee and cost in advance. Payment is required before the County will produce the records. The fee may be reduced or waived if it is determined it is in the interest of the public.

To email your request

Email your request to the department representative listed below.

All Media Requests: Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

Multnomah County Chair and Board of County Commissioners
Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

Department of Community Justice
Kathryn Sofich, kathryn.sofich@multco.us

Department of Community Services
Animal Services
Michelle Luckey, ac.publicrecordsrequest@multco.us, 503.988.6238

Elections
Eric Sample, elections@multco.us, 503.988.6850

Land Use Planning
Stuart Farmer, land.use.planning@multco.us, 503.988.3043

Transportation
Mike Pullen, dcs.records@multco.us, 503.209.4111

Special Districts:
Dunthorpe-Riverdale Sanitary Sewer District
Mike Pullen, dcs.records@multco.us, 503.209.4111

Mid-County Lighting District
Mike Pullen, dcs.records@multco.us, 503.209.4111

Department of County Assets
Karin Lamberton, karin.i.lamberton@multco.us, 503.988.3102

Department of County Management
Assessment, Recording & Taxation
Larry Steele, larry.a.steele@multco.us, 503.988.7886

Human Resources, Budget Office, Finance, Payroll
Kelli Gallippi, kelli.a.gallippi@multco.us, 503.988.7607

Purchasing
Brian Smith, brian.r.smith@multco.us, 503.988.7910
Emilie Schulhoff, emilie.g.schulhoff@multco.us, 503.988.7539

Government Relations
Jeston Black, jeston.black@multco.us, 503.988.6052

Department of County Human Services
Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us, 503.502.2741

Health Department
Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us, 503.502.2741
Backup: Adrienne Daniels, adrienne.daniels@multco.us
Backup: Maria Lisa Johnson, maria-lisa.johnson@multco.us

Local Public Safety Coordinating Council (LPSCC)
Jessica Morkert-Shibley, jessica.morkert-shibley@multco.us

Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office
Brandon White, brandon.white@mcso.us

Libraries
Shawn Cunningham, shawnc@multcolib.org, 503.988.3097

District Attorney
Adam Gibbs, via email adam.gibbs@mcda.us or fax 503.988.3643
Mail: 1021 SW 4th Avenue, Rm. 600
Portland, Oregon 97204

For more on the DA: http://mcda.us/index.php/about-the-da/public-records-request/

Leadership Council
Adam Gibbs, adam.gibbs@mcda.us  

Non-Departmental
Mike Pullen, mike.j.pullen@multco.us, 503.209.4111

Emergency Management
Chris Voss, chris.voss@multco.us, 503.988.4649

Office of Diversity and Equity, Office of Sustainability
Julie Sullivan-Springhetti, julie.sullivan-springhetti@multco.us

To mail your request:

Public Record Request Multnomah County 501 S.E. Hawthorne, Suite 500 Portland, OR 97214

Before you put together your request

Locating Records

  • Confirm that the records you want are located at Multnomah County
  • Check to see if the records are available online

Retention Schedules

  • Find out the typical records a county program has, and how long those records are maintained.
  • This will help you target your requests, and know what is available to be requested.

Looking to report suspected fraud, abuse of position, or misuse of county resources? Submit a report to the County Auditor's Good Government Hotline.